good morning puppies

Annnnd of course my favorite way to wake up any Saturday morning, whiny puppies.  I can’t really blame them completely, I also fell asleep last night at 7.  I got off work early, and after driving the two hours in traffic to get home, I had leftover bbq and immediately went to sleep.  When R came home, it startled me awake from a deep sleep haha.

So the best way to do this blog is to start to tell more people about it, and write less in it, right?

I’m trying to think back on what I cooked this week.  I made more swoodles! And chicken nuggets and broccoli.  Which totally got eaten up!  And R made soup which turned out to be amazing, and also gone now.

 

And Thursday morning, R and I made delicious eggie sammies!  Totally whole 30, I can’t wait to make them again.

The recipe I used calls for homemade sausage, which I did not have on hand.  But you know what I did have? Prosciutto. Perfect, salty, fancy bacon.  So we did eggs, prosciutto, and guacamole.  I also did cheese because I’m not ready to quit it yet, but it tastes pretty great without too.  The egg patties take a little time, and I only have two biscuit cutters, so I don’t think this will be breakfast every day on Whole 30, but probably when I’m really craving and breakfast sandwich biscuit.  And I kinda wanted to show in the pictures some mistakes I make because I’m still learning how to cook.  It’s become a hobby, but I’m by no means an expert.  So when I spiralize things, they sometimes fall off the crank or my eggs are not perfectly shaped patties.  I’m not on Top Chef and they still taste good.  Is what I need to tell myself haha.

Thursday was my day off from work, and I was planning to do pork shoulder in the slow cooker and homemade coleslaw because I love pulled pork and coleslaw.  But Wednesday night after two hard days at work I was like the last thing I want to do is wake up early on my day off and prep meat.  So I looked for the best rated BBQ in my area, and decided to just make coleslaw and get some already cooked meat when I was in town.  Possibly my best idea because I got my haircut and picked up the bbq, and like 10 minutes after I got home, the power went out.  For 3 hours.  My slow cooked pork would’ve taken even longer to cook, and we would’ve been waiting hungrily, start to pick non-cooked pieces out in desperation for sustenance.  So it’s ok to take a break guys!  The power kicked back on right before dinner, I made the coleslaw, warmed up the meat and macaroni and cheese (always with the cheese…) and it worked out just fine.  I highly recommend Blue Rock BBQ to anyone in the area.  Their brisket especially was on POINT.

I’m going to be on vacation for the next week, so I probably won’t be posting a bunch of cooking photos.  But when we get back, it’s time for a Whole 30 reboot, so get ready for Whole 30 overload.  🙂

Leave a Reply

